The Success Foundation Serving Greeley-Evans Schools has received a $100,000 donation from Chevron to support the Tointon Academy of Pre-Engineering. “This is an exciting time for our school district and community, and we greatly appreciate the opportunity to partner with Chevron in supporting initiatives that will advance the goals of this new school,” says Julie Hill, Success Foundation executive director.

The Tointon Academy of Pre-Engineering will open August 2022, providing a comprehensive, high-achieving, pre-engineering program to students in Greeley-Evans School District 6 in grades preschool through 8th grade. The school will be available to students throughout District 6 through an open enrollment process and the district will work to attract students who are underrepresented in the field of engineering, including students of color and female students. “It is so rewarding to see this new school and new concept come to life,” says Dr. Deirdre Pilch, District 6 Superintendent. “We cannot be successful alone and are grateful to have partners like Chevron who are willing to support the new curriculum, help us train the new staff, and ensure we can build a school-wide culture around pre-engineering and multiple pathways to graduation.” In addition to funding, Chevron will be a formal business partner of the school, allowing their engineers to be involved in a variety of capacities including working directly with students and serving on the school advisory council.

“Chevron recognizes the importance of sustaining a meaningful partnership with Greeley-Evans School District 6 that will have a broad and long-lasting impact on both students and educators,” says Hodge Walker, vice president of the Rockies Business Unit. “The Tointon Academy of Pre-Engineering will not only open career pathways for students, but it will also help them develop critical thinking and inquiry-based skills that extend far beyond the classroom and workplace. We are proud to sponsor and be part of this exciting opportunity.”

The construction of the Tointon Academy of Pre-Engineering is being funded by the bond issue approved by voters in November 2019. After receiving a recommendation from a naming committee, the District 6 Board of Education voted unanimously to name the school after Bob and Betty Tointon, community leaders and strong supporters of public education in District 6. The school will accommodate approximately 900 students and is located in West Greeley at the intersection of 71st Avenue and 4th Street.

Changes to Board of Education directors

D6 says goodbye to Board of Education directors John W. Haefeli, Rhonda Solis and Ray Talley, who have collectively given 18 years of service to District 6. During their tenure on the board, these board members supported the following achievements and initiatives:

  1. The development of Innovation2020, the district strategic plan that outlined a new mission, vision and values and goals for District 6, which has driven the work in our system.
  2. The development of Innovation2030, the revision of the district strategic plan that will lead the work in the system for the next 10 years.
  3. Passing the first-ever mill levy override for District 6, bringing in essential local tax revenue to support students and personnel in the district.
  4. Passing a $395 million bond issue that is allowing District 6 to address more than $1 billion in deferred maintenance in schools and buildings throughout the system.
  5. Creating new and lasting partnerships with organizations, businesses and churches throughout the community that are helping District 6 meet the needs of its 23,000 students.
  6. Repairing relationships with the Greeley Education Association and bringing in a new model for consensus building that has allowed multiple-year contracts with educators and has solved significant staff-related problems in the system.
  7. Improving graduation rates and significantly reducing the number of schools on the accountability clock with the state of Colorado.
  8. Creating and enhancing career pathways and concurrent enrollment in college so that students can truly find a path to their future.

We also welcomed three new Board of Education members: Kyle Bentley, Rob Norwood and Taylor Sullivan, who were sworn in along with Board President Michael Mathews, who won a second term on the board. Congratulations to our newest Board members!