Thompson School District's Board of Education is in the process of a formal search to fill the district's superintendent position, which will be vacated effective July 1, 2018, by Dr. Stan Scheer, who has announced his retirement. The Board of Education has contracted with the firm McPherson and Jacobson to manage the formal search. A series of community input forums have been scheduled for January 16 and January 17 to provide an opportunity for students, parents, staff and community members to share their thoughts on the talents and traits that they prefer for Thompson's next superintendent. To help guide the discussion, the schedule has been broken down into specific segments for the various populations within the district. For more information on the forum schedule and the timeline of the search, please visit If you are not able to attend the forum sessions, you may also share your thoughts by sending them via e-mail to the following address: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. All comments sent to that address will be forwarded to the search firm.

MLK event to tell a musical story

The 28th Annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday Event will be hosted on Monday, January 15th at Mountain View High School from 7-8:30pm. George Kilby Jr., Phil Wiggins and Andy Calder will perform a concert and lecture telling the musical story of “Racism, Reconciliation and the Blues” in America. Doors will open at 6:30. The opening act will feature the Thompson Valley Singers high school choir. Tickets are free of charge, but must be reserved in advance online at the following address:

Semifinalists named in scholarship competitions

A total of eleven high school senior students have been named semifinalists in two specific scholarship competitions. The following students have been named semifinalists for the 2017-2018 Boettcher Scholarship:

  • Elizabeth Bosnich, Berthoud High School
  • Alexander Paradise, Berthoud High School
  • Tate Rees, Berthoud High School
  • Brandon Lindsey, Loveland High School
  • Henry Stucky, Loveland High School
  • Allison Hall, Mountain View High School
  • Cameron Piccone, Mountain View High School
  • Megan Valliere, Mountain View High School
  • Josephine McCauley, Thompson Valley High School

In addition, the following students have been named semifinalists of the Coca-Cola Scholars Program Scholarship:

  • Maycee White, Berthoud High School
  • Brandon Lindsey, Loveland High School
  • Henry Stucky, Loveland High School
  • Makenzie Culver, Mountain View High School

Created over 60 years ago, the Boettcher Scholarship is a merit-based scholarship program designed for Colorado high school seniors. The program covers the cost of a scholar’s tuition, fees and books for eight semesters or 12 quarters at approved Colorado four-year universities or colleges. Additionally, Boettcher Scholars receive a living stipend. Forty-two scholarships are awarded annually. Approximately 100 Colorado high school senior finalists are selected to interview in Denver for the merit-based scholarship from an initial pool of applicants, which is typically around 1,500.

The Coca-Cola Scholars Program Scholarship is an achievement-based scholarship awarded to graduating high school seniors. Students are recognized for their capacity to lead and serve, as well as their commitment to making a significant impact on their schools and communities. With the 29th class in 2017, the program has provided over 5,850 Coca-Cola Scholars with more than $63 million in educational support. Each year, 150 Coca-Cola Scholars are selected to receive a $20,000 scholarship.

School named to national register

Last month, members of the Truscott Elementary School community celebrated the school's naming to the "National Register of Historic Places." Accepting the plaque on behalf of the school were 5th graders Jolien Maycroft, Student Leadership President, and Marlen Soto Castillo, Student Leadership Vice President. They joined principal Karen Hanford for a photo following the ceremony. The plaque was presented during the school's general assembly, which also featured the formal presentation of some Chrome Books and Chrome charging carts for the school. The technology was donated by the Loveland Rotary Club.